The Liturgical Seasons & Colours

The Church’s Liturgical Calendar Year uses similar terms and measurements as would a regular Calendar Year, however; having different seasons which includes holidays and solemn days.

The purpose of the Liturgical Calendar Year is to celebrate with an understanding, the entire mystery of Jesus Christ.  From Jesus’:

  • Incarnation and birth
  • Passion and death
  • Resurrection
  • Ascension
  • Pentecost
  • The expectation of His 2nd return in glory

The Liturgical Year is marked by special seasons:

  • Advent
  • Christmas
  • Lent
  • The Paschal Triduum (Three Days)
  • Easter
  • Ordinary Time